Michigan's Brady Hoke Named Maxwell Football Club Coach Of The Year

Michigan head coach Brady Hoke has been named the 2011 Coach of the Year by the Maxwell Football Club.

  • Live
7 Total Updates since November 30, 2011
  • Important 3
  • Updates 6
  • Articles 1
  • All Updates 7

College Football Awards: Michigan's David Molk Wins Rimington Trophy

Michigan center David Molk has been named the winner of the 2011 Rimington Trophy. Several college football awards are being handed out on Thursday night, and by winning the award, Molk became the second Michigan player to be named the recipient of the Rimington Trophy (David Baas won the award in 2004).

Via Angelique Chengelis, here is what Molk had to say after winning the award, which is given out annually to the best center in college football:

Molk on Rimington: "it feels great to be recognized. I'll cherish this for the rest of my life"

Molk, who is a fifth-year senior and a team captain for Michigan, was named the Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year last week. (That award is also named after Dave Rimington.) Molk was also named to the coaches' All-Big Ten first team, and on Thursday it came out that he is on the 2011 Walter Camp All-America first team along with Michigan State's Jerel Worthy.


Michigan State Defensive Tackle Jerel Worthy Named To AFCA's FBS All-America Team

Keeping up with the rest of the post-regular season awards, the American Football Coaches Association has named their 2011 AFCA FBS Coaches' All-America Team. Since 1945, the AFCA has selected an All-America team and it's all chosen exclusively by the coaches themselves.

The Michigan State Spartans are represented in the team by defensive tackle Jerel Worthy. The junior has been a force for MSU, clogging up the defensive line and doing a good job stopping the run. He also tallied 3.5 sacks for a total loss of about thirty yards, while adding another 8.5 tackles for loss in the backfield, for 40 yards. 

Worthy was also the only defender from MSU to make the first team of the All-Big Ten team by the coaches and the media. 

He joins other great defensive linemen like Whitney Mercilus, Melvin Ingram, and Alex Okafor. The rest of the defense includes linebackers Dont'a Hightower, Jarvis Jones and Lavonte Davis and defensive backs Mark Barron, Morris Claiborne, Markelle Martin and DeQuan Menzie. Worthy was MSU's only player to make the team. Alabama had the most players represented with five.


Michigan's Brady Hoke Named Big Ten Coach Of The Year

On Wednesday, the Big Ten Conference announced that Brady Hoke, head coach of the Michigan Wolverines football team, was chosen as the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year. The award is decided by conference coaches. The media also named him the Dave McClain Coach of the Year. 

Hoke led his team to a 10-2 record overall and a 6-2 mark within the Big Ten. He's the second Michigan coach to win at least 10 games in his first season, and the first to do so since 1901. He's just the fifth coach in Big Ten history to do so, as well. The team was 7-6 last season, before Hoke took over, the biggest win differential again, since 1901. Michigan's offense and defense were both productive, with their 34.2 points per game being ranked second in the Big Ten, with their defense's 17.2 points per game good for fourth in the league.

The McClain Coach of the Year award dates back to 1972 and is named after the former Wisconsin coach. This year is the inaugural awarding of the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year honor, and it pays tribute to Ohio State's Woody Hayes and Michigan's Bo Schembechler.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Detroit

You must be a member of SB Nation Detroit to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Detroit. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Detroit

You must be a member of SB Nation Detroit to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Detroit. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.