clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 Great Lakes Invitational: Michigan Rallies Past Colorado College To Win Title

Michigan defeated Colorado College, 6-5, to win the 2010 Great Lakes Invitational. The Wolverines' title is their third in the last four years and 14th overall. The 6-5 win improves Michigan's record to 12-5-4 this season.

Michigan's victory in the GLI title game involved a late rally. This game was back and forth all night, and despite leading by two goals at one point, the Wolverines found themselves trailing by a goal in the third period. The period started with Michigan ahead by a goal, but Colorado College scored twice in the span of a minute to go ahead, 5-4. The Wolverines started playing much better after going down, however, and Lee Moffie scored on a power play with six minutes left to tie things up at five. Only 1:56 later, A.J. Treais fired the puck in front of the net and it bounced off of a Colorado College player and in for the go-ahead goal.

The Wolverines' defense was shaky throughout the night, giving up five goals on 30 shots, but it held on for the final four minutes and didn't allow Colorado College to tie things up again. As a result, Michigan ended up winning, 6-5, to take home the 46th annual GLI championship.

Michigan's Luke Glendening, who scored two goals in the championship game, was named the GLI's most valuable player. Ben Winnett, Louie Caporusso, Moffie and Treais scored Michigan's other four goals. The Wolverines had 39 total shots on the night and scored exactly two goals in each period.

Earlier in the day, Michigan State beat Michigan Tech, 5-3, to take third place in the Great Lakes Invitational. Michigan Tech twice tied the game up after MSU took a one-goal lead, but the Spartans pulled away in the third period by going up two goals. MTU did score to cut the lead in half, but the Spartans added a fifth goal to put the game away with less than six minutes to play.

The 2011 Great Lakes Invitational will be held at the end of next December and feature Michigan, Michigan State, Michigan Tech and Boston College.