clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Datsyuk Wins 3rd Straight Selke Trophy

The NHL Awards were presented on Wednesday night in Las Vegas and two Red Wings were up for major awards -- Jimmy Howard for the Calder and Pavel Datsyuk for the Selke.

Pavel Datsyuk will be the only one of the two leaving Vegas with a trophy in hand, though, as he captured his third straight Frank J. Selke Trophy, awarded to the NHL's best defensive forward. Buffalo's Tyler Myers edged out Howard by 400 first place votes for the Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded to the league's best rookie.

Datsyuk was a virtual lock to take home his third straight Selke, as he led the league for the fourth straight season with 132 takeaways. Datsyuk translated several of those takeaways into his own highlight reel goals. 

According to The Detroit News, Datsyuk is the first player to win it three years in a row since 1978-81 when Montreal's Bob Gainey took it home four straight times.

For more analysis on the NHL Awards and the Detroit Red Wings, head over to SB Nation's Detroit Red Wings blog, Winging it in Motown.