clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Report: Big Ten's Divisions Confirmed, For Football Only

Jeff Rabjohns of the Indianapolis Star is confirming previous reports about what the Big Ten's two divisions will look like, and he is also reporting that these divisions will be strictly for football.

Confirmed: IU, PU, Illinois, Penn St., OSU, Wisc. in same division. Neb, Mich, Mich St, Iowa, Minn, N'western in other.

Just to clear up any confusion, #BigTen divisions are for football only.

For basketball, it would make the most sense to play without divisions and just keep the current 18-game schedule, which Andy Katz now reports is a possibility. Previously he said the Big Ten would switch to a 16-game schedule similar to what the SEC and Big 12 use.

Considering these divisions have been formed based on numbers used for football, it just doesn't make sense for them to carry over for basketball.