clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 MLB All-Star Game Lineup: Alex Avila To Bat 9th For AL

The lineups for the 2011 MLB All-Star Game were announced on Monday afternoon. Alex Avila, the game's starting catcher for the American League and the lone Tigers player in the starting lineup, will bat ninth. Here is a look at the full AL lineup:

  1. CF Curtis Granderson (Yankees)
  2. SS Asdrubal Cabrera (Indians)
  3. 1B Adrian Gonzalez (Red Sox)
  4. RF Jose Bautista (Blue Jays)
  5. LF Josh Hamilton (Rangers)
  6. 3B Adrian Beltre (Rangers)
  7. DH David Ortiz (Red Sox)
  8. 2B Robinson Cano (Yankees)
  9. C Alex Avila (Tigers)

Anaheim's Jered Weaver will be the starting pitcher for the American League. Philadelphia's Roy Halladay is getting the starting nod for the National League. The NL's lineup can be seen below.

  1. 2B Rickie Weeks (Brewers)
  2. DH Carlos Beltran (Mets)
  3. CF Matt Kemp (Dodgers)
  4. 1B Prince Fielder (Brewers)
  5. C Brian McCann (Braves)
  6. RF Lance Berkman (Cardinals)
  7. LF Matt Holliday (Cardinals)
  8. SS Troy Tulowitzki (Rockies)
  9. 3B Scott Rolen (Reds)

Justin Verlander is not eligible to pitch for the American League, but the Tigers will have Miguel Cabrera and Jhonny Peralta as replacements for fielders and Jose Valverde as the game's possible closer.