clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

VIDEO: Michigan welcomes back Paul Bunyan Trophy

The Michigan Wolverines finally reclaimed the Paul Bunyan Trophy Saturday after their 12-10 victory over Michigan State.

Leon Halip

After spending the past four years with the Michigan State Spartans, the Paul Bunyan Trophy finally returned to the Michigan Wolverines on Saturday.

The Paul Bunyan Trophy is awarded to the winner of the annual Michigan-Michigan State rivalry game. The Michigan Wolverines lead the all-time series with a record of 62-38-5. The first meeting between the intrastate rivals occurred in 1898.

Michigan State had won the Paul Bunyan Trophy each of the last four years prior to Saturday, their first series of consecutive titles since the Spartans won three straight matchups from 1965 to 1967.

On Saturday, the rivalry came down to the final five seconds. Brandon Gibbons kicked a 38-yard field goal to seal the game for the Wolverines, the culmination of a two-minute, 41-yard drive engineered by Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson to put Michigan ahead, 12-10. The victory was the 900th win in Michigan football history.

Watch the Wolverines celebrate accordingly as, after four years of defeat, they finally reclaim the Paul Bunyan Trophy.