clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michigan Sports Hall of Fame announces 2013 class of inductees

Many big names will join the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame in 2013.

Rob Carr

The Michigan Sports Hall of Fame announced eight new members that will be enshrined in 2013. The 2013 inductees will be Lomas Brown, Mateen Cleaves, Tony Dungy, Mark Howe, Dick Kimball, Pamela McGee, Steve Smith, and Tyrone Wheatley.

Lomas Brown played 11 of his 18 NFL seasons with the Detroit Lions. A first round pick of the 1985 NFL Draft by the Lions, Brown made seven Pro Bowls, six with the Lions, and is a member of the Lions 75th Anniversary All-Time Team.

Mateen Cleaves led Michigan State to the 2000 national championship and was named Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four. A Flint, Mich. native, he was a three-time All-American and his No. 12 jersey hangs in the rafters at Michigan State.

Tony Dungy is a native of Jackson, Mich. and coached both the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Indianapolis Colts. He became the first African American coach to win a Super Bowl, when the Colts won Super Bowl XLI.

Mark Howe is a Detroit native who was a two-time WHA All-Star and three-time NHL All-Star and finished his career with the Red Wings.

Dick Kimball coached the Michigan Wolverines diving team from 1959-2002 and coached five Olympic diving teams.

Pamela McGee, a Flint, Mich. native, led Northeastern High School to a 75-0 record and two state championships. She won two NCAA Championships at USC, a 1984 Olympic gold medal and was the second overall pick in the inaugural WNBA Draft.

Steve Smith, a native of Highland Park, Mich., is the all-time leading scorer in Michigan State basketball history. He won a Olympic gold medal in 2000 and an NBA Championship in 2003 with the Spurs.

Tyrone Wheatley was a high school state champion in track and football out of Inkster, Mich. As a running back for the Wolverines he was the 1992 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year.