clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Frozen Four, Union College Vs. Ferris State: Game Time, TV Schedule And More

Ferris State's improbable run toward an NCAA hockey championship continues Thursday when the Bulldogs take on Union College (New York), which is on an equally improbably run of its own.

Ferris State, whose main campus is located in Big Rapids, Mich., has won each of its two NCAA Tournament games 2-1. It first downed the University of Denver -- winner of seven NCAA titles, including in 2004 and 2005 -- and then Cornell in the quarterfinals.

Union, meanwhile, beat Michigan State 3-1 in the first round, and then took out Mass.-Lowell in overtime, 4-3.

While neither Ferris State nor Union has ever been to a Frozen Four -- let alone won a national title -- the winner will square off against one of two national powerhouses: Boston College or Minnesota. BC has won four NCAA crowns, including in 2008 and 2010, while Minnesota has won five, most recently back-to-back titles in 2002 and 2003.

Where: St. Pete Times Forum, Tampa Bay, Florida

Semifinal game one: Ferris State vs. Union College - Thursday, April 5th, 4:30 pm ET -ESPNU/ESPN3

Semifinal game two: Minnesota vs. Boston College - Thursday, April 5th, 8:00 pm ET -ESPN2/ESPN3

Championship: Game one winner vs. Game two winner - Saturday, April 7th, 7:00 pm ET -ESPN2/ESPN3

Be sure to check out SB Nation's YouTube channel!