clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four-Team Playoff To Begin In College Football In 2014-15

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

A 12-year deal was approved by university presidents that agrees to a four-team playoff for college football. The deal begins in 2014-15.

From USA Today:

"This was timely, had to be done," former Big 12 acting commissioner Chuck Neinas said before Tuesday's meetings began. "(It was in) response to the public, response to the interest in college football. The BCS has done a great deal in helping promote college football, and there's a general feeling we need to do something better to determine a national champion."

As of now, the university presidents said the sites of the playoffs are still to be determined and will likely rotate from year to year between the current BCS venues.

For the next two seasons, the current system in college football will decide a national champion.

For more on the ever-changing college football landscape, be sure to stay tuned to SB Nation's dedicated College Football hub.