clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

London Olympics 2012: Michael Phelps Can Tie, Break Overall Medals Record Tuesday

Michael Phelps will have a chance to break the Olympic record for individual medals Tuesday.

Phelps, who already owns the record for individual gold medals -- 14 total, breaking American Mark Spitz's old record -- will swim in the 200 meter butterfly, followed by the 4x200 freestyle.

The 200 meter butterfly will be at 7:49 p.m. London time (2:49 p.m. Eastern) and the 4x200 freestyle will be at 8:51 p.m. London time (3:51 p.m. Eastern). If Phelps, a former Michigan Wolverine, medals in both of those, the all-time medal mark will be his.

Click here for a complete list of all Tuesday's events.

Also of note: Team USA will play its second game of the London Olympics at 6:15 p.m. Eastern against Tunisia.

But there is no shortage of action to bide time until tonight's main events. There are currently 20 events taking place live, ranging from beach volleyball to sailing to fencing.

For more coverage of local athletes at the Olympics, stay with this StoryStream. For more Summer Games coverage, head over to SB Nation's Olympic hub, or watch SB Nation's YouTube channel: