clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Won't Change Rule After Calvin Johnson Didn't Complete "The Process"

We interrupt your legal jargon-filled labor dispute to update you with actual, on-the-field related football news!

The rule behind the controversial no-catch call that should’ve been called a catch and robbed the Lions of a probable Week 1 win against the Chicago Bears has been reviewed by the NFL. It was not reviewed thoroughly enough, it seems [via Pro Football Talk]:

There will not be a "Calvin Johnson Rule" added to the NFL next year.

According to Bob Glauber of Newsday, the Competition Committee has decided not to amend the current rules about maintaining possession throughout a catch.

That means the rule will remain flawed, as such:

“If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.”

Several people, including the competition committee who decided not to at least re-word this rule, believe it was interpreted properly in Week 1:

"If you read the rule, it’s not a catch," competition committee member John Mara said. "The reason it’s not a catch is you’ve got to control the ball when you hit the ground. It makes it easier to officiate. It’s a bright line that you can draw."

I’ve read the rule, Mr. Mara. Megatron had control of the ball when his arm, then butt hit the ground. It wasn’t easy to officiate, hence the initial touchdown signal and reversal on the field. It’s not a bright line that you can draw. The rule needed to be changed.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled lockout.