clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nicklas Lidstrom Among Lady Byng Trophy Finalists

The NHL announced the three finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy on Thursday: Red Wings defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom, Lightning forward Martin St. Louis and Stars forward Loui Eriksson.


The Lady Byng Trophy is annually given to the "player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability." Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk took home the award four years in a row (starting with the year after the lockout) before having his streak snapped last year by St. Louis.


If Lidstrom were to win the award, he would become the first defenseman to take home the Lady Byng Trophy in 57 years. The last defenseman to capture the honor was Detroit's Red Kelly, who won the award a total of four times (three times with the Red Wings as a defenseman and once with the Maple Leafs as a center).


Over the next two weeks the finalists will be announced for seven more NHL awards. The winners will be announced at the 2011 NHL awards show on June 22 in Las Vegas.