clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards 2011 Results: Breaking Down The Voting

The 2011 NHL Awards Show took place on Wednesday night in Las Vegas. Awards were handed out to the best players in the NHL, including the Red Wings' own Nicklas Lidstrom.

Lidstrom took home his seventh career Norris Trophy, which is annually awarded to the NHL's best defensemen. Here is a look at how the voting for the award broke down:

NORRIS: Lidstrom (736), Weber (727), Chara (688), Visnovsky (573), Yandle (312)

Shea Weber of the Predators almost edged out Lidstrom for the award, but just like the Red Wings did to Nashville in the division title race, Lidstrom managed to hold off Weber.

The Norris Trophy is the only award a Red Wings player won on Wednesday. Lidstrom finished second for the Lady Byng Trophy and Pavel Datsyuk finished third for the Selke Trophy. Below is a look at the breakdown of votes for those two awards. (Lidstrom was also nominated for the Mark Messier Leadership Award, which was not broken down by a vote).

SELKE: Kesler (1.179), Toews (476), Datsyuk (348), Bergeron (296), Malhotra (229)

LADY BYNG: St. Louis (994), Lidstrom (464), Eriksson (347), Marleau (241), Toews (233)

The most important thing is that Lidstrom took home yet another Norris Trophy, placing him in a tie for second all-time with Doug Harvey. If Lidstrom is able to win the award again next year, he will move into a tie for first with Bobby Orr, who won eight career Norris Trophies.