clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nicklas Lidstrom Up For Mark Messier Award

Detroit Red Wings defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom is one of three finalists for the Mark Messier Leadership Award. The other two finalists are Boston Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara and Phoenix Coyotes forward Shane Doan.


As the name suggests, the Messier Award is given annually to a player that demonstrates leadership. The specific description for who the award is given to is as follows: "(An) individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes."


The Messier Award was formed in 2006. Former Red Wing Chris Chelios was the first player to win the award, and since then Mats Sundin, Jarome Iginla and Sidney Crosby have been added to the list of winners. Lidstrom is looking to add his name to the list this year and take home another piece of hardware.


Lidstrom will find out if he's the winner at the 2011 NHL Awards on June 22 in Las Vegas. Lidstrom is also up for the Norris Trophy and Lady Byng Trophy.