clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NHL Awards Results: Patrice Bergeron Wins Selke Trophy Over Pavel Datsyuk

Detroit Red Wings forward Pavel Datsyuk has missed out on the Selke Trophy, given each year to the NHL's top defensive forward.

Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins won the award, his first Selke.

Datsyuk won the award three years in a row, from 2008-10. His three Selkes are one shy of the record set by Bob Gainey of the Montreal Canadiens, who won the award each of the first four years it was given (1978-81).

Datsyuk was the only Red Wing nominated for a major award this season, which means, as reported, that the Red Wings' streak of 11 straight seasons with a major individual award is over.

In other news, the Red Wings -- along with every other NHL team -- should have their 2012-13 schedule announced some time Thursday morning. Check back with SB Nation Detroit for more.

For more on the Detroit Red Wings, check out Winging It In Motown. You can check out more hockey news from around the league at SB Nation's NHL page, or watch SB Nation's YouTube channel: