clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Home Run Derby: Prince Fielder Wins It All

The Detroit Tigers' Prince Fielder is the 2012 MLB Home Run Derby champion. With 12 home runs in the final round, he defeated the Toronto Blue Jays' Jose Bautista to take home his second Derby trophy.

Fielder, who won the competition in 2009 as a member of the Milwaukee Brewers, is only the second player to win more than one Derby. The other is Ken Griffey Jr., who won it in 1994, 1998 and 1999.

Fielder is the first Tiger to win the competition. His home runs were hit an average of 423 feet.

Bautista hit seven home runs in the final round. He beat the Los Angeles Angels' Mark Trumbo in a second round swing-off to advance to face Fielder.

The other participants were Carlos Beltran (St. Louis Cardinals), Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado Rockies), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh Pirates), Matt Kemp (Los Angeles Dodgers) and Robinson Cano (New York Yankees).

For more on the Detroit Tigers, check out Bless You Boys. For more news and analysis on the upcoming All-Star Game as well as everything going on during the break, check out Baseball Nation.