clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten awards 2012: Will Hagerup named Punter of the Year

Michigan's Will Hagerup was named the Big Ten's best punter in 2012.

Leon Halip

Michigan punter Will Hagerup was named the Eddleman-Fields Big Ten Punter of the Year on Monday.

The junior had 32 punts on the season and averaged 45.1 yards on his kicks with a long of 62 yards. That average led the Big Ten by nearly two yards over Michigan State punter Mike Sadler. Hagerup was one of the lone bright spots in the opening season loss to Alabam.

Hagerup's award-winning season comes one year after a trying season that saw the Wolverines' punter struggle on and off the field. Prior to the 2011 season, Hagerup was suspended four games for violating team rules. When he returned to the lineup, he played very poorly, posting just 36.0 yards per punt on 29 punts. The year culminated with a brutal performance in the Sugar Bowl against Virginia Tech, where Hagerup was replaced by Matt Wile.

Hagerup was also suspended for one game his freshman season, but he punted much better that year. On 33 punts, he racked up a 43.6 yards per punt average and notched a career-long 72-yard punt in a game at Purdue.