clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Big Ten Football Awards: Several Wolverines, Spartans Honored

The Big Ten has announced its awards for the 2011 football season as voted on by both the coaches and the media.

With the Big Ten's football regular season complete, the conference announced its All-Big Ten teams and winners of individual awards for the 2011 season on Monday night. Several Michigan and Michigan State players were honored as part of the awards announcement.

For the individual awards, Michigan center David Molk was named the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year. He is the only Michigan or Michigan State player to be named the winner of an individual award, but he is one of many Wolverines or Spartans on the All-Big Ten teams. Here's a rundown of which players were honored:

First Team Offense

Coaches: C David Molk (Michigan), OG Joel Foreman (Michigan State)

Media: OG Joel Foreman (Michigan State)

First Team Defense

Coaches: DL Jerel Worthy (Michigan State), DB Johnny Adams (Michigan State)

Media: DL Jerel Worthy (Michigan State), DB Trenton Robinson (Michigan State)

Second Team Offense

Coaches: QB Kirk Cousins (Michigan State), WR B.J. Cunningham (Michigan State), OT Taylor Lewan (Michigan), TE Brian Linthicum (Michigan State)

Media: QB Denard Robinson (Michigan), WR B.J. Cunningham (Michigan State), C David Molk (Michigan)

Second Team Defense

Coaches: DL Mike Martin (Michigan), DL William Gholston (Michigan State), LB Max Bullough (Michigan State), DB Isaiah Lewis (Michigan State)

Media: DL Mike Martin (Michigan), DL William Gholston (Michigan State), LB Denicos Allen (Michigan State), DB Johnny Adams (Michigan State), DB Isaiah Lewis (Michigan State)

Honorable Mentions - Coaches

Michigan: QB Denard Robinson, RB Fitzgerald Toussaint, WR Junior Hemingway, TE Kevin Koger, DL Ryan Van Bergen, LB Kenny Demens, DB J.T. Floyd

Michigan State: RB Le'Veon Bell, WR Keshawn Martin, DL Marcus Rush, LB Denicos Allen, DB Trenton Robinson

Honorable Mentions - Media

Michigan: RB Fitzgerald Toussaint, TE Kevin Koger, OT Taylor Lewan, DL Craig Roh, DL Ryan Van Bergen, LB Kenny Demens, DB J.T. Floyd, DB Jordan Kovacs

Michigan State: QB Kirk Cousins, RB Le'Veon Bell, TE Brian Linthicum, OG Chris McDonald, DL Kevin Pickelman, DL Marcus Rush, LB Chris Norman, LB Max Bullough, DB Darqueze Dennard, K Dan Conroy

The Big Ten will announce other awards, including the Coach of the Year, on Wednesday. Michigan's Brady Hoke and Michigan State's Mark Dantonio are both in contention for the award, so it will be interesting to see who wins it.