clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards 2012: Michigan, Michigan State And Western Michigan Each With Walter Camp Candidates

On Friday, the Walter Camp Foundation announced the "50 players to watch" as potential winners of the 2012 version of the Player of the Year award, the fourth oldest individual award in college football.

Among those names are products from Michigan, including Wolverines senior quarterback Denard Robinson, Michigan State defensive end William Gholston and Western Michigan quarterback Alex Carder.

In November, the list of 50 will be cut down to 10 semifinalists prior to the winner of the award being announced Thursday, Dec. 6 on ESPN.

Stanford quarterback and first-overall selection in the 2012 NFL Draft, Andrew Luck, won the award in 2011.

For more on the Michigan Wolverines, check out Maize n Brew. For more on the Michigan State Spartans, go to The Only Colors. You can learn more about college football around the country over at SB Nation's College Football hub. You can also watch SB Nation's YouTube channel:

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube