clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Denard Robinson Named Big Ten Offensive Player Of The Year

Despite his struggles against top tier competition, Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson put together a good enough year to win the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year award.

Robinson won the award from both the coaches and the media, yet surprisingly didn't make the offensive first or second team on the coaches side. Robinson rushed for a NCAA  quarterback record 1,643 yards and 14 touchdowns, passing for another 16 scores.

Robinson was the media's first team quarterback and offensive player of the year. Coaches usually don't make much sense anyway.

Michigan State's Mark Dantonio won the Dave McClain Coach of the Year award for leading the Spartans to an 11-1 record and a share of their first Big Ten title since 1990.

Check after the jump for the full list of local players to earn honors from the media and coaches.

Coaches' first team
C- David Molk, Michigan
K- Dan Conroy, MSU
LB- Greg Jones, MSU

Coaches' second team
T- D.J. Young, MSU
DL- Mike Martin, Michigan
LB- Eric Gordon, MSU
DB- Trenton Robinson, Chris L. Rucker, MSU
P- Aaron Bates, MSU

Honorable Mentions: U-M- Denard Robinson, Stephen Schilling, Michigan; MSU- Edwin Baker, Kirk Cousins, Mark Dell, Joel Foreman, Charlie Gantt, Marcus Hyde, Jerel Worthy

Offensive Player of the Year- Denard Robinson, Michigan

Media First Team
QB- Denard Robinson, Michigan
RB- Edwin Baker, MSU
K- Dan Conroy, MSU
LB- Greg Jones, MSU
P- Aaron Bates, MSU

Media Second Team
WR- Roy Roundtree, Michigan
TE- Charlie Gantt, MSU
LB- Jonas Mouton, Michigan; Eric Gordon, MSU
DB-Marcus Hyde, MSU

Honorable Mentions: U-M- Jordan Kovacs, Mike Martin, Stephen Schilling, Michigan; MSU- Johnny Adams, Kirk Cousins, B.J. Cunningham, Mark Dell, Joel Foreman, Trenton Robinson, Chris L. Rucker, Jerel Worthy, D.J. Young

Offensive Player of the Year: Denard Robinson, Michigan
Coach of the Year: Mark Dantonio, MSU