clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Davey O'Brien Semifinalists Include Denard Robinson And Kirk Cousins

Denard Robinson and Kirk Cousins were named as semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien award on Monday, given out each season to the best quarterback in college football. Earning even a finalist spot is no small honor considering the selection committee narrows its list down from all 120 schools in the NCAA's FBS schools and the four most-recent winners include NFL starters Cam Newton, Colt McCoy, Sam Bradford and Tim Tebow.

Robinson, well-known for his escapades as the signal-caller for the Michigan Wolverines, and Michigan State's Cousins were both semifinalists on last season's list as well. Of the 16 finalists, the Big Ten has just three making the list with Wisconsin's Russell Wilson being the other.

According to the award's website, the committee was asked to consider quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship when deciding the finalists. Fans are able to play a small part as well, so make sure and vote for whichever quarterback in the state of Michigan deserves the award here.

The fans' vote only counts for five percent, but we don't want that five percent going to the likes of Kellen Moore and Ryan Tannehill, do we?Gregg Brown Leaves Michigan Football Program