clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brady Hoke, Mark Dantonio Highlight 2011 Bear Bryant Coach Of The Year Award Watch List

Brady Hoke and Mark Dantonio have both been named the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year watch list, it was announced Wednesday. The award's watch list acknowledges the 20 best coaches in the NCAA and is named after famed college football coach Paul "Bear" Bryant.

Hoke, head coach of the Michigan Wolverines, has led his crew to a 6-1 record during his first season at the helm of Ann Arbor's finest football team. Coach Dantonio has also led his Spartans to a 6-1 record this season with a meeting looming against the Nebraska Cornhuskers.

Two other Big Ten coaches join Hoke and Dantonio on the list with Bret Bielema representing Wisconsin and Bo Pelini of Nebraska earning honors for the Cornhuskers.

According to the press release, five to 10 coaches will be named to the finalists' list in December, and the winner will be announced at a Jan. 19 awards dinner.