clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michigan's Brady Hoke Named Finalist For Eddie Robinson Coach Of The Year Award

After being named the Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year, Michigan Wolverines head football coach Brady Hoke has been named one of five finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award. The award is effectively the National Coach of the Year award, and is given annually to college football's top head coach. The award is voted on by selected sports writers and other division directors. It's named for, of course, Eddie Robinson, the Hall of Fame coach who spent 56 years at Grambling State University.

Hoke's competition is strong, however. The other finalists include Mike Gundy of Oklahoma Sate, Les Miles of the No. 1 ranked LSU Tigers, Bill Snyder of Kansas State and Dabo Swinney of Clemson. The award is given the night before the NCAA Division I Football Championship, along with the Walter Payton award and the Buck Buchanan Award.

The Wolverines have been getting plenty of awards, most notably with several players on the All-Big Ten teams.