clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Chooses Hosts For Future Football Title Games, Basketball Tournaments

For at least the first five years of its inception, the Big Ten football championship game will be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. It was announced last August that Indy will host this year's Big Ten title game (set to be played on Dec. 3), but the host of future games was only determined this past weekend.


The decision to give Indy the game over Chicago basically came down to playing the game inside. While playing outdoors would fit more with the Big Ten's general style of play, it would also present a number of potential problems. Bad weather, an awful field and cold temperatures are common for Chicago in December, so the Big Ten went with the safe move and decided to keep the game in Indy through 2015.


The Big Ten basketball tournaments, which have been played exclusively in Indy since 2008, will rotate between Indy and Chicago in the future. The 2012, 2014 and 2016 tournaments will be played at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. In 2013 and 2015, the United Center in Chicago will host the men's tournament and the Sears Centre Arena in Hoffman Estates, Illinois, will host the women's tournament.


The men's Big Ten tournament was played in Chicago for the first four years of its existence (1998-2001). In 2002, a rotation between Indy and Chicago began, and it lasted until a five-year exclusivity period began for Indy. Now a rotation is set to once again begin in the future.