clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tigers starters set postseason record for consecutive scoreless innings

Max Scherzer, Justin Verlander, Doug Fister and Anibal Sanchez pitched 30 and 1/3 innings before allowing a run, setting a postseason record.

Leon Halip - Getty Images

The Detroit Tigers have set a postseason record -- and it's perhaps the main reason why the Tigers are on the cusp of their second American League pennant since 2006.

Detroit's starting pitchers had not allowed a run in 30 and 1/3 innings of work, until Justin Verlander allowed a ninth inning solo home run to Eduardo Nunez in Game 3 of the ALCS. Per the Elias Sports Bureau, that constitutes a postseason record.

Max Scherzer had been the last Tigers starting pitcher to allow a run to score -- and that came in Game 4 of the ALDS against the Oakland Athletics. Even then, the run Scherzer allowed to score was unearned. Scherzer finished the game pitching five and 1/3 innings, allowing one unearned run on three hits, while issuing one walk and striking out eight.

Since then, Verlander pitched a complete game shutout in Game 5 of the ALDS, before Doug Fister pitched six innings without allowing a run in Game 1 of the ALCS. Anibal Sanchez followed Fister's effort by pitching seven shutout innings in Game 2 of the ALCS, en route to a 3-0 Tigers win.

Verlander then went eight innings before allowing a run in Game 3 of the ALCS.

Detroit will look for another stellar effort from Scherzer in Game 4 of the ALCS, as the Tigers look to sweep the ALCS and advance to the World Series.