clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

World Series schedule 2012: Tigers will open against NL champions on Oct. 24

Detroit will begin its 2012 World Series schedule on Wednesday, Oct. 24 against either St. Louis or San Francisco.

Leon Halip

Fresh off a four-game sweep of the New York Yankees in the American League Championship Series, the Detroit Tigers will begin their quest for a World Series title on Oct. 24 on the road against the National League champions.

The Tigers will play the first two games of the series in either St. Louis or San Francisco, and then return home for three straight games in three days from Oct. 27 to Oct. 29. If necessary, the final two games of the series are set for Oct. 31 and Nov. 1 and will be played at the National League champion's park.

Expected to give the ball to ace Justin Verlander in Game 1, Detroit manager Jim Leyland will hope to keep his players fresh for the long layoff before next Wednesday's opener. Verlander would be in line to start a possible Game 5 in Detroit if he kicks off the series and remains on the same rest pattern, which represents an ideal scenario for Leyland and the organization.

Full 2012 World Series schedule:
Game 1 - Detroit @ NL Champion - Wed, Oct. 24 - FOX
Game 2 - Detroit @ NL Champion - Thu, Oct. 25 - FOX
Game 3 - NL Champion @ Detroit - Sat, Oct. 27 - FOX
Game 4 - NL Champion @ Detroit - Sun, Oct. 28 - FOX
Game 5* - NL Champion @ Detroit - Mon, Oct. 29 - FOX
Game 6* - Detroit @ NL Champion - Wed, Oct. 31 - FOX
Game 7* - Detroit @ NL Champion - Thu, Nov. 1 - FOX

*If necessary